All the winners of the World Press Photo

Photos of the most important photojournalism award in the world

TUESDAY 21ST APRIL 2020 This article is older than 1 year

They have been announced World Press Photo winners, the most important photojournalism contest in the world.

To win the two most important awards, the World Press Photo of the Year and the World Press Photo Story of the Year, were respectively Yasuyoshi Chiba e Romain Laurendeau.

Yasuyoshi Chiba  is a Japanese photographer and his photography is a young man illuminated by the light emitted by mobile phones. A blackout was going on that evening in Khartoum, Sudan: Chiba said that at one point the people present started clapping and lighting a boy in the crowd, who was reciting a famous protest poem and then improvised another. Around him people replied “thawra”, which means “revolution” in Arabic.

The french photographer Romain Laurendeauinstead, he won the World Press Photo Story of the Year, dedicated to a story and a narrative of great effect with a work on Algerian youth and his unease and the role he had in inspiring the great protests in Algeria in 2019.

World Press Photo is a non-profit organization, based in Amsterdam, founded in 1955. Since then it has organized the largest and most prestigious world photojournalism competition.

Every year, with the competition and an exhibition visited by over a million people, World Press Photo reminded us that in the world the suffering caused by wars and social injustices is still and always dramatically present.

The main objectives of World Press Photo are: to support professional photography on an international scale, to stimulate the development of photojournalism, to encourage the transfer of knowledge, to encourage the development of high professional standards in photojournalism and to promote a free and unrestricted exchange of information.

Tutti i suggerimenti di #iorestoacasa ma non rinuncio alla cultura

Ph © Yasuyoshi Chiba, Giappone, Agence France-Presse